Mind buzzing.

Earlier this week, my friend Dawn and I were asked to speak at a local university, where a former colleague now teaches. I originally wanted to say no to this experience, but doing it alongside Dawn was something I couldn’t pass up. I knew it was be easier, and more fun, together.

Luckily, our plan came together quickly. We were asked to talk about work that has become the heart of what we do, small group instruction. We were told we had two hours, but it was fine if we finished early. We didn’t plan to fill the entire time. But the class, really a small group, was engaged and eager. They had questions. They wanted to feel validated.

Dawn and I ended our session sharing about marigolds, reiterating everything that we had said throughout the evening. Relationships matter. Find the people that help you grow, like marigolds, so that you can do the work you came to do…see kids. Grow kids.

We had driven together, so after the class, I drove Dawn home. We continued to chat. We were on something like hour 12 of being together, but we still had a lot more to say.

When Dawn finally said goodnight, both of us up past our normal school night bed time, I glanced down at my phone to see a text message from my husband-home with all three kids and presenting a two hour board meeting virtually…during bed time.

“Ro had a bit of a loose tooth so she was kinda freaked out. I told her she could hang out with the board meeting and lay down on our bed. She just fell asleep,” his text read.

A loose tooth? She’s only four.

When I got home, Arnauld was in the kitchen cleaning up scattered bits left behind by our daughters independence during his meeting. We chatted and I prepped a few things for the next day, surprised that I wasn’t feeling more tired. My mind was buzzing.

When I finally went to bed, next to Rose, still snuggled comfortably in our bed (Arnauld on the couch), I found that sleep didn’t come easily. My mind had been working hard after a slow February break. I was still thinking about the varied experiences of the students from the college class. I was feeling grateful for my own teaching career.

I must have fallen asleep at some point, because at 2am, I felt a light tap on my shoulder. “Mommy. My tooth is loose,” came Rose’s little voice.

“I heard,” I said. “It’s ok. We will check it out in the morning. But, I promise, everything will be ok.”

That was enough to send her right back to sleep and to spur my brain again into thinking mode.

16 thoughts on “Mind buzzing.

  1. Ah, yes! The days of finally settling into peaceful slumber and then the excitement of news that can’t wait arriving to snap us back into reality! Four years old and a loose tooth is big news that can’t wait til morning! Looks like an afternoon nap is in order for the day.

    Like

  2. My brain wouldn’t sleep for the first two months at my current teaching job. I was always thinking about what I would do in class the next day. Fortunately, the brain has calmed down a bit now.
    Thank you for this slice!

    Like

  3. I think Kevin said it first — those mind buzzing nights are more often than not — I guess it’s a sign of all that we care about! This slice brings together two of your worlds and after almost 12 hours in the teaching world, the text from Arnauld brings you right into your home/family world and has all of us admiring and appreciating all that you do and are! Here’s to restful nights ahead!

    Like

  4. I wondered how that tooth would come up again! It’s funny what can set a mind spinning. Sometimes the reflections can also get me spinning even more than the anticipation! It sounds like everything went really well…what lucky education students!

    Like

  5. It’s so great you and Dawn have such a wonderful collaboration! I’m sure your presentation was wonderful. Kudos to your husband for running a board meeting while he watched the kids! (Is he a school superintendent?) Your little one and her wiggly tooth- so precious.

    Like

  6. I knew somehow even in the new home they would still live your bed! So great that you an Dawn did this. Lucky class. I still remember our Naugatuck day! Remember we both weren’t feeling well?!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amazing that you two were doing this this week with everything else going on. And you probably still made it to the DEI meeting that I forgot about…again. I’m with Kevin, my mind buzzes almost every night. Sometimes it’s a good thing, like the excited buzzing of this slice. Those are better nights than the ones where it’s the worrying buzz. Looking forward to hearing about the tooth.

    Like

Leave a comment