Masked?

Monday evening, I picked up Adi from dance class. I peeked into the studio, expecting to see her smile as she practiced her ballet recital number. I was surprised to see a neon green mask as she tiptoed into a graceful circle with her friends. When she left the studio a few minutes later, I gave her a hug and whispered in her ear, “I’m really proud that you decided to wear your mask.”

Monday was the first day that masks were optional at school and dance class. We had had many conversations as a family leading up to this day. I had expressed my desire for the girls to continue wearing their masks, at least for a while…so we could see what would happen next. Adi was sure that no one in her class would continue wearing a mask, her teacher had polled the class at morning meeting. Not one to enjoy standing out, that was enough for Adi to know she didn’t want to wear her mask. Despite conversations like “sometimes doing the thing that is different is hard” or “it won’t be forever…”, she wasn’t convinced. So, when I picked her up, I was actually shocked to see that maybe some of my words had sunk in.

Looking around our communities now, I know that my thoughts may not be popular. I feelextreme gratitude for our masks. When we walked back into schools for the first time in the fall of 2020, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t nervous. I was exposed to Covid countless times, but thankfully, I’ve stayed healthy. I attribute a lot of that to masks. As a mother, I’ve gone through a rollercoaster of emotions and worries, always wondering if we are making the right choices. Should we send the kids to school? Should we get them vaccinated? Now, should we let them take their masks off? Is this latest shift really rooted in science or politics? COVID has been so unpredictable…I suppose I have trust issues. The masks feel like the one thing I can control as I send my most precious people into the world.

Wednesday morning, as I reconfigured Adi’s hair into her second braid bun of the morning (she’s very particular about her hair), she told me again that she did not want to wear her mask to school. She said that none of her friends were wearing theirs. “Ali told me I should just take it off…that you’d never even know.” I thanked her for her honesty and we talked about trust. Then, she began to sob. “I don’t want to go to school anymore,” she cried.

My kids love school, so this stung. I was torn. Do I insist she wears her mask and put her through all of these feelings or do I let it go? After her bun was secure, I wrapped my arms around her and surprised myself when I heard these words come out of my mouth, “You can take your mask off if you want.”

In February, my long time slicing friend, Susan, wrote about her One Little Word for 2022, Carefree. It’s times like these that I wish I was able to be a little more carefree, able to throw caution to the wind. But unfortunately, I am pretty much the opposite of carefree.

This morning, I asked my oldest daughter, Wren, if she would continue to wear her mask. She’s a lot like me, a rule follower. She had told me earlier in the week that her sweet teacher said he would keep his mask on until the last student took theirs off. I know Wren is the last. “I think I’ll keep it on my water bottle and if I’m close to other people, I’ll put it on,” she said looking at me for what I knew was approval.

“Ok,” I said, trying to muster up a smile.

In 2020, when COVID was still so new and my dad was still an ICU nurse, I wrote, “I’m now visualizing a bubble of love wrapped around him, keeping him and everyone else who walks head on into the virus safe and protected.” Once again, I hope that this bubble is enough to keep my loved ones safe.

16 thoughts on “Masked?

  1. I don’t think I’m quite carefree, but I definitely am working on worrying less. While our ‘flexible mask policy’ will go into affect on Monday, I am undecided about what I will do and concerned about the peer pressure for children and adults. I have fortunately also stayed well through the pandemic. I do attribute this to our family pact to reduce risk with our choices. I feel for you and Adi. Perhaps as the weeks continue, our anxiety will become lighter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Our mask mandate has not been lifted yet. But I’m sure that’s happening soon. Like you we have stayed healthy and I want to keep the masks on at least for myself and my family. Thank you for writing this post because I am struggling with many of the same things. I want my own family to stay healthy and yet I don’t want my kids to feel weird about being the only ones wearing mask. I think I will keep wearing mine until the end of June and I will see what else happens with the other kids. Of course our order of 300 masks that I placed at Christmas time just arrived two weeks ago and now they’re going to lift the mandates and I’m gonna be stuck with 250 masks in my cupboard for the next 10 years. Ha ha

    Like

  3. These are such hard times and hard decisions. You not only have to work on these decision for yourself, but with and for your beautiful children as well. As a mom, all you want to do is protect them. It’s just so hard. I’m trying to be a bit more carefree too, but it’s not working.

    Like

  4. Here in Cambodia, there is no talk of getting rid of masks yet, but I know when there is that I will be super anxious, and likely one of the last to go mask free. Thinking of you at this hard time. I still worry about my adult children and their masking (or not).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The conversation is important. We all do have different levels of comfort. I’ve seen my mask wearing colleagues (during a mask mandate time) get COVID even after being boosted. I had an important video to get through so I wore it until then, but have recently stopped. I know it is easier for my students to understand me. I find it easier to teach. Cheers to whatever makes you comfortable.

    Like

  6. Locally we’ve watched our school board be berated to the point there’s been no mask mandates this year. People here are crazy, anti-science, no maskers, so we’ve been among the few w/ masks forever. This has been tough on parents such as. you who understand the politics and pain their children experience. You are an amazing parent. I can’t imagine anyone handling these conversations w/ more grace and love than you did w/ your girls. Stay well.

    Like

  7. I really appreciate the conversations you were able to have with your girls about their choices and their feelings about their choices. It’s all a massively uncertain balancing act. Here’s to a successful negotiation (in every sense) of this next phase of pandemic life.

    Like

  8. It sounds like you’ve done the best you can with your daughters. Adi seems to be having the hardest time. I am so relieved I don’t have young children now, what with Covid, and now the war over Ukraine. I’m sure you will do well in future conversations with yours over these hard issues.

    Like

  9. This whole slice tugged at my heartstrings and resonated with me.
    We’re still masking. One of my kids has an underlying medical condition so it’s necessary for us to do this until the rates are low AND everyone in this house is boosted. (When exactly will that be? I do not know!) As a result, we had similar conversations this week since our synagogue went to masks optional for the 1st graders and up. Isabelle knew she’d wear her mask there the entire time, but she worried she’d be the only one. No kid wants to stick out, which is why what Wren’s teacher stated moved me. (Like, lump-in-the-throat and tears-in-the-eyes moved me.)
    I was chatting with a friend today and I told her that I just feel weary. No human is meant to withstand this many decisions about basic health and safety protocols for this long of a time. Yet, we march forward.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wren’s teacher is a phenomenal human being. I wrote him a letter about how grateful we were for his kindness and support. Weary is such a good word for what so many people are feeling right now.

      Like

  10. You’ve shared so
    Much of this in person but reading altogether “hits different” (as my kids would say). No matter what, you and Arnauld are incredible thoughtful and respectful parents and that is evident throughout this slice. I could hear your conversations as I read! ❤️

    Like

  11. This does feel like an unusually difficult time to be a parent and to be a kid. In some ways it mirrors other stresses we’ve been noticing, like the pressure to get kids a phone (or not), when so many other kids are getting one, or the pressure to let kids have a Tik Tok account or whatever the latest trend is. All of these put a parent in the tough position of taking a stand for what they feel is in their kid’s best interest but not wanting their child to feel excluded. It would be easier if there were a 50/50 split, but it doesn’t seem like that’s the case. It’s unfortunate that Ali put a bit of pressure on Adi to keep it a secret from you. That was a pressure of conscience that I was worried many kids would feel. Really good that Adi told you about that.

    Like

  12. Oh Jess. We are still masked up here, but I know the shift is coming. This post broke my heart a little. I admire how you and your children talked about this. I hope that when the time comes, I can be as supportive and loving – and that my children will trust me with their truths. There is almost no way that Thomas, 13, will be able to go against his peers. Eric, 11, may hold out longer – though I suspect many of his friends will also stay masked. I’m hoping against hope that the mask mandate stays at least until we can open classroom windows & get the kids outside. Thank you for sharing this – and hugs to you and your family.

    Like

  13. I am just so in awe of Wren’s teacher- what a gem! My high schoolers are struggling. They are torn about what to do, and I think they want me to tell them, but we are working on having them make the decision.

    Like

Leave a comment