Big hit.

Thursday evening, after two thirds of the evening pickups were complete and the dogs had been walked after a long day home alone, I realized that the following day we had a staff developer visiting our school. I always try to bake for these days, to make them feel special. To let people know I’m glad they’re there. Plus, I’ve learned that small treats sometimes go a long way. It’s been a doozy of a week coming back from vacation. I knew adding a little baking to the evening chaos would be well worth the effort.

“You made cookie bars?” Adi asked as I pulled the tray out of the oven.

“They’re for work,” I explained. “I’ll save a few for you too.”

The next day, I placed the large container of cookie bars in the center of the table I had already sat around that week for more hours than I care to count. I placed some leftover “Totally Jawsome” shark birthday napkins on top. Our work during the day was fast, furious, and intense. It was just the right amount of push that left me with plenty of follow up work and ideas to keep moving us forward. Many teachers took a cookie bar for the road as they headed back to their classes, so their coverage could move on to the next group of teachers who would circle the table.

By the end of the day, a few people came back for more cookie bars. I loaded up a few passers by with extras to take home. I had overestimated how many cookie bars we might need. As I carried the cookie container back out, I shared more cookies in the parking lot and then even more at preschool pickup.

Later that night, as my family prepared to settle in for some quiet Friday night relaxing, Adi joined me in the kitchen. ” I thought you were bringing those cookie bars to school with you,” she said, eyeing the container, now back on our counter. “They weren’t a big hit?” she asked.


11 thoughts on “Big hit.

  1. For some reason I can’t comment on this entry.

    On Sat, Mar 5, 2022 at 5:36 AM Where There’s Joy wrote:

    > jcareyreads posted: ” Thursday evening, after two thirds of the evening > pickups were complete and the dogs had been walked after a long day home > alone, I realized that the following day we had a staff developer visiting > our school. I always try to bake for these days, to make” >

    Like

  2. Adi’s final question made me laugh, but I’m sure those cookies and the thoughtfulness and effort behind them were a HUGE hit! Your positivity is always inspiring.

    Like

  3. What I love is that the idea was the ending…I love when an idea pops in your head or you hear it, then you have to write your way to it. Well done and thanks for baking, they were delish!

    Like

  4. Adi for the win! I think the moral of the story, though, is that you should have brought one upstairs to me…then I would have been happy to finish them, and then Adi could have said, “I guess the bars were a big hit!” Win, win for Jess. But this way you got a better slice ending.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I bake for all meetings. Funny that we have that in common as well. Bob grumbles about them getting all the good treats, it he always either slips some on the front side or I bring some home at the end of the day.

    Like

  6. Oh Adi! Great storytelling here. I love how the kids showed up early in the slice & then disappeared behind the chaos of the day… right up to Adi’s big line. Wonderful.

    Like

  7. From the beginning, I kept thinking you were going to run out and Adi wasn’t going to get any, and you were going to have to make more on Friday night. Her last line makes me laugh!

    Like

Leave a comment