Slicers Unite

I was sitting in Lucy Calkins session on leadership during yesterday’s Teachers College, Saturday Reunion. I was trying to balance taking notes and Tweeting out some big ideas-knowing how much I’ve valued this method of sharing while I’ve been home during a big PD event.

As I published a fresh Tweet with a gem from Lucy Calkins, I noticed a blue notification by the message symbol at the top of my Twitter Screen. This was my second of the day. The first message was from fellow Slice of Lifer, Susan aka readingteachsu. We had discovered that we would both be at the Saturday Reunion…again. We’ve been following each other through our Blogs and on Twitter for three years now. We’ve both been at the Saturday Reunion a few times, but always miss each other. This time, she shared her phone number through Twitter. Knowing she might be in the same room had me peering over my shoulder and checking faces in the crowd as we walked from session to session.

Then, sitting in this leadership session, I checked the new message. This one was from Melanie Meehan, Two Writing Teacher co-author. She saw my Tweets from the session with Lucy and figured out that we were sitting in the same room. I showed the message to Elena on my left and Erika on my right, both dedicated Slicers. We casually peered around us. Where was Melanie?

I wrote back, confirming that I was indeed in the same session. “In the back, center section.”

Melanie responded, describing her seat’s location, also in the back, center section. She was sitting to the right of Lucy, next to the sound equipment.

I wrote back that I was to the left of Lucy, in front of the equipment. ” I’ll look for you when we stand up! I’m wearing white. I should have worn a more fun color!”

At the end of the session, I stood up and turned around hoping to be able to spot Melanie. As I turned my head, I heard my name. “Jess!”

I waved and waiting for the crowds to clear. When Melanie got closer, we embraced and laughed that we should all be wearing “Slice Swag.” I introduced her to Erika and Elena and just like that our virtual worlds collided in real life.

Then again, during the closing keynote with Marc Bracket, I spotted another Twitter message. Again from Susan. “I’m standing in aisle. Wearing a purple sweater.” I looked around. The keynote had begun and everyone was seated. I checked the time stamp- the message had come four minutes earlier.

Following the keynote, after I gathered my things, I stood to take another look around for someone wearing a purple sweater in the sea of teachers leaving the church. That’s when I made eye contact with Susan. We hugged. She told me the story of her morning, which she might blog about. Then we hugged again.

Slicers Unite.

img_2767-7

29 thoughts on “Slicers Unite

  1. Wow such a fun “ reunion” at the TC reunion! I had a similar moment at an institute years ago where I recognized one of the original TWT mavens , and offered a goofy “ fan girl” hello. But your slice was so elegantly captured and a true stretched out moment, bit by bit.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful experience. I’m always surprised when someone I know online approaches me at the end of a conference presentation and introduces themself. It is indeed fun to meet face to face and affirm relationships. This is what communities like this are all about!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked how tweets made you alert and then the scanning the room increased the excitement and finally meeting the persons created warmth. I can relate to the double joy of attending a learning event and meeting friends.

    Like

  4. I wish we’d had more time to spend! The Reunion’s crazy! I’m looking forward to seeing you and others on Monday night. Hopefully that will feel a little bit more relaxing–though probably not very. Your post is funny to read, because mine on the other end would have been so similar!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. How wonderful you were able to connect at the reunion via Twitter! This community is fabulous and anytime we can meet in person makes it sweeter.
    Jealous of your time at TC. Thanks for sharing your gems!

    Like

  6. How fun to meet real people you know from media. I feel as though I do know you all, but to have a chance to make actual contact is a blessing. Glad you wrote about this today.

    Like

  7. I love the way our TC world and our TWT world are coming together. It’s a powerful thing to be part of these learning communities. This was quite central to Lucy’s talk to literacy leaders. We have to build collaborative learning opportunities, she said. I think that’s what we are doing right here on TWT and at TC.

    Like

  8. I wish I ran into you! I was in many of those rooms. It was a great day of learning- only made better by meeting up with virtual friends. I love how you stretched out each change encounter so we could experience with you.

    Like

  9. All kinds of reunions happening here! How fun to meet in person. I love your last line and can just picture you looking around trying to find everyone from your earlier lines.

    Like

  10. YES! I think this is such an important slice. When we begin our lives on social media, we have no idea how and when the true “social” benefits will emerge. It takes time to develop friendships in person, and the same is true online. People get to know your values over time by what you write, tweet, share. People build trust over time as they see that you are consistent and commitment to a cause or principle, and then your community and network of ideas, articles, thought experiments emerge, and the benefits are priceless because you’ve connected with human beings you may never meet in person — but, in your case, you did, and that is even more glorious.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. And *this* is why I love this community. I’m coming to the end of my March break and won’t be able to comment as much soon; my mother-in-law is visiting and I’m trying to explain why I’m sitting in front of the computer all the time. I was following your tweets yesterday (and got myself into a bit of a twitter thing – oops) and felt so happy to know you. I can only imagine the joy of running into so many other slicers. Maybe I can make it down to NYC for the next one of these. Keep me in the loop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep getting a lot of notifications about your “thing” (which I totally agreed with by the way!). There are reunions in October and March, every year. We should organize a Slice reunion!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. So much fun! I’m hopeful I’ll get to attend a reunion and meet some fellow slicers, too! I love the TC and TWT communities and am so inspired by all of the teachers who work so hard to continually bring the best learning to their kids.

    Like

  13. I was catching bits and pieces of the reunion through Twitter but reading your slice introduces another level of happiness for all of the in-person connections you were able to make.

    Like

  14. FOMO! I love this. I was not there, but upon finding out who all was, I almost hopped on the C train.

    I love the energy of this post and the idea of a bunch of slicers spotting each other in swag.

    Like

  15. I love everything about this! Sometimes I forget that all my virtual friends are real people who might end up in the same room as me someday. I’m so glad you got to connect in real life!

    Like

  16. It’s been a while since I’ve been able to meet anyone from my online travels, let alone a fellow slicer! Just knowing the quality of writing that goes on here, I’d be a bit intimidated to say the least, but it would be an awesome experience all the same!

    Thank you for sharing your meeting with us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment