The promise of a refill

A few days ago, Kate Roberts tweeted:

I’m pretty sure I get this heart and soul and body tired every year at this time but just in case take note of the date and let’s pay attention next year, shall we?

This struck me. Maybe that’s what I’ve been feeling- heart and soul and body tired. Is it really this time every year?

Tomorrow, I will head to Teachers College for my twice a year refill, The Saturday Reunion. This week has been a bit of a doozy and I contemplated staying home. I also thought about what it would feel like to stay home, following along on Twitter. A gray cloud seemed to settle over me. That’s when I decided, I couldn’t miss this.

If you’ve never been to a Saturday Reunion, I highly recommend the experience. The energy of a church full of educators, gathering by choice… on a Saturday, is something I wish we could bottle up and savor all year round.

I always leave full. Heart. Soul. Body.

I am ready to refill.

21 thoughts on “The promise of a refill

  1. I’m glad you’re going to the reunion. You likely would have spent a lot of time thinking about what you missed had you stayed home. I blame Daylight Savings Time for the struggle teachers endure this time of year.

    Like

  2. Excited for you, Jessica! Looking forward to hearing more about the reunion. “The energy of a church full of educators” – no doubt your heart and soul will be refilled, and your body refreshed.

    Like

  3. Perfect slice! I can’t wait to learn from what you learn! One of these reunions, we’ll go together! Hope you have a spectacular day – you deserve it! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. Throughout the years I have read many posts about this excitement about going to the Saturday reunion. I have to admit, I get a little jealous every time. Nevertheless, wish you a wonderful day or learning and connecting!

    Like

  5. I was able to go last fall and it was exactly the type of energy-filled experience you described. Enjoy every moment, and I can’t wait to read about everything you learn! It definitely feels like there’s a party happening somewhere without me today… 🙂

    Like

  6. I always look forward to the Tweets and Posts teachers share from these reunion weekends. They always seem to fall at a very busy time for me and NYC isn’t very close-so I live vicariously through the lives of those participating!

    Like

  7. Sitting at home, wishing it weren’t such a big work weekend, and I was heading to the church of TC with you. I’m looking forward to hearing your takeaways from Jason R. and Marc, among others.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. That phrase- heart, soul, body tired- which was the seed to start your writing, is so good. And your writing is too!I love when a few words of someone else’s inspire me to write something. I have always wanted to go to the Saturday reunion- and every year the dates don’t work for me (so far).

    Liked by 1 person

  9. There’s something so great and refreshing about being in an environment where everyone is so excited and into the work. It’s this time of year when people feel tired and are digging deep for the home stretch of the year. I’m glad you went and I got to meet you in person, even for a minute. Hope the rest of your day was great!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m so glad you were able to come. There is nothing like the energy and learning of a TC Saturday Reunion! And what a reunion it was! It was such a great day of learning. I can’t wait to hear about the other sessions you attended.

    Like

Leave a comment