Three Way Call

I’ve never been a big talk in the phone girl. I remember feeling left out in middle school when my friends shared stories about their three way calls with other friends. We didn’t have that feature on our basic landline phone. I always felt like I missed out on something special…

Fast forward to today. Our district literacy team was meeting and the other members of my school literacy team walked out without me. A few minutes as I made my way to the car, I saw Ashley still talking to someone on the parking lot. I decided to call Dawn for a post meeting debrief- we hadn’t been able to sit together for most of the meeting.

As Dawn and I caught up, the screen on my car lit up with Ashley’s name. “Hang on,” I said to Dawn as I pressed a few buttons.

“Hello?” I said a moment later. Dawn and Ashley both replied, “hello!”

Technology has changed a lot since I was a kid, but this three way call gave me the thrill I know I missed all those years ago.

5 thoughts on “Three Way Call

  1. Three way calls when we were growing up were NOT a good thing! You didn’t miss much. Your call today though, that was a good one! You are all lucky to have each other.

    Like

  2. Several nights a week, my sister calls my family group. Seeing their faces all at once, and being able to catch up with everyone in conversation is truly a blessing for me.
    Thanks for this slice; I never stopped to appreciate this in my life!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment