Fired Up

I stand at the kitchen island. It’s 9:30 pm. I stab my salad, chew and swallow without tasting.

“You must be tired,” Arnauld says.

“I’m too fired up,” I reply, continuing to stab at my bowl.

I stand there staring into space, the evening replaying in my mind. Three hours spent at a curriculum committee meeting for the district where my daughters go to school.

“This is where legislation is demanding we go.” These words ring in my mind.

What if legislation got it wrong?

Tears sting my eyes now as I write these words, the realization that this legislation will become reality.

I’m fired up,

but, I’m also sad.

11 thoughts on “Fired Up

  1. When you use powerful words like “stab” to describe eating your salad, you really show your feelings of frustration. I’m sorry you feel this way! Maybe a solution will present itself in the morning.

    Like

  2. Your frustration comes through loud and clear in this slice. I hope some comfort came by writing about it. Hang in there and keep doing what is right for kids, no matter what the legislation says. #GoodTrouble

    Like

  3. Such a volatile issue! I understand why you are fired up, even without knowing which side of the reading “debate” you are on. Literacy matters so much and the world needs passionate teachers to teach!

    Like

  4. Oh, Jess! What a post. I dearly dearly hope they’ve got it “right,” but my experience is that, even when well-intended, legislation struggles to fit well with things as complicated as teaching.

    Like

Leave a comment