Planning

Amanda’s post, Planning, from a few days ago spoke to my heart. I met with a second grade teacher today and we looked at a stack of decoding and encoding assessments alongside student writing and we made plans for small groups of writers. We moved quickly, the data all organized in neat stacks in front of us. As we placed kids into groups that would provide them with instruction with the next thing they were ready to tackle, I paused and said, “I just love this. I feel so in control.”

Prepared might have been a better word choice. But being prepared does give you a certain feeling of control. Regardless, I like the feeling that planning provides. Maybe that’s why I’ve been loving Mondays. I have several periods blocked off for planning with specific teachers. It’s a great way to prepare for the week ahead. Sometimes, our planning sessions aren’t as productive as others. Sometimes, we are problem solving a social dynamic or grappling with problems that feel too big for a twenty minute session. Other days, like today, it all clicks into place.

Right before the session with the second grade teacher I mentioned above, I met with a kindergarten teacher. She lugged all of her students’ writing folders down to my office (her class was having Spanish in the classroom). In twenty minutes, we looked through every child’s folder and made a plan for small group instruction. As she left, folders and a plan in her hands, she said, “That was great. That would have taken me hours on my own.”

“Maybe we didn’t pick the exact right thing for every kid, but every kid will benefit from the groups we just planned,” I replied.

Experience also tells me that the teachers I met with today will go into the rest of this week feeling ready. Sure there will be obstacles that they couldn’t predict, but they’ve laid eyes on every students’ work, celebrated successess, and made a plan to meet them where they are.

Planning is good for the soul.

10 thoughts on “Planning

  1. It’s a planning theme, as I just read Susan’s post. I like the aside you had about control versus prepared. I think it’s a super-important distinction! I also love how you capture the interaction between you and the teachers.

    Like

  2. Planning is the very essence of what we do as educators, in order to provide a predictable, reliable, and effective learning program for our students. I have been behind in planning this year for the first time in over a decade, and I have felt the consequences. I will be more mindful of my need for planning time next year!

    Like

  3. You capture the importance of planning, obviously, here. You also capture your belief in it and the relationships you have with teachers. It’s your relationships and the conversations that happen while planning that make it good for the soul. Yay you!

    Like

  4. Thanks for offering this window into how you work with teachers. In a setting where we do not necessarily have that kind of coaching culture, it’s really helpful to understand the forms of support you can offer your colleagues. I’m a mediocre planner at best, but also prefer to feel prepared rather than lost, so your post makes a strong case for the former.

    Like

  5. Well said. There is power in planning. I think it’s the hardest part, but if we spend time on it the rest is a bit easier!

    Like

Leave a comment