She lives for this…

Remember the days when washing dishes was joyful?

If you were four, you’d live for the moments mom said you can wash the dishes.

Today, she’s mixing hand soap and dish soap. “Do your parents say you can’t mix up stuff? I’m not using this. I’m borrowing it,” she narrates as she pumps another squirt of soap.

She’s been at it for a while now. Nothing has come out of the sink…it all just gets washed, rinsed, and repeat. “I’m going to dump this back in,” she says to her imaginary audience. Who wouldn’t tune in to watch Rose wash dishes?

If you’ve read my blog in years past, you know that I typically wrote most of my slices on my phone while laying with my kids in their beds at night. I’m proud to say that this year, most of my posts have been typed on a computer at a reasonable time of day. My kids are growing up. This piece was written on my phone in real time, as I stood at the kitchen counter watching Rose in all her glory.

9 thoughts on “She lives for this…

  1. I forgot about the joy of dish washing– hope you had the bath towels ready for the puddles on the floor. I never knew you sliced on your phone! That’s impressive!

    The self-talk brings readers right into the sink with Rose. I was nodding along in response as I read!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The narration is the best! Rose is a good helper. I don’t know how you can slice on your phone. I’m still working on texting!

    Like

  3. I think about you often, writing on your phone in the dark while you waited for one girl or another to fall asleep. The image in my head is really clear. I’m glad that you now write mostly from your computer, but I’m glad you made an exception to capture Rose washing dishes today. The dialogue (monologue?) alone is incredible.

    Like

Leave a comment