On and on…

The noise that comes with three young kids stuck in the house for five days straight can, at times, be overwhelming. There is playful chatter, high shrilled shrieks, fighting, singing, whining, and chanting. All of this happens while my husband has been spending most of the day at a desk (in the playroom) working from home. I add to the noise with my hushed whisper yelling, reminders to keep it down.

Tonight, I finally settled on the couch for a few minutes before initiating the bedtime routines. The girls were half watching a movie and browsing through books.

I zoned out. I stopped listening and paying attention to what was going on. Who knows where I went, but I was brought back to reality by what sounded like chanting. “On and on and on and on,” I heard Adi saying as Rose thrust a book at me. “Can you read me this one?” The noise felt like more than I could handle at the end of the day.

I was about to tell Adi to be quiet when I looked over and saw that she was reading a Fly Guy book. She was holding the book up and pointing to the words on the page. It looked like this:

She carefully pointed to each word, reading the page with accuracy and fluency. It went on long enough that I was able to capture a bit on video.

Instead of telling her to be quiet, I took a deep breath and praised her for her careful reading.

I am trying to embrace the chaos.

25 thoughts on “On and on…

  1. It is hard to embrace the chaos when it goes on and on and on and on and on… I’m so glad you were able to capture this moment; may you all find a routine that works as you spend more time alone together. May it not drag on (and on – sorry, I couldn’t help it.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. >I am trying to embrace the chaos.<

    The chaos is what they'll remember years from now. That's the awesome thing about this, that we create this sense of "it's going to be ok" by reading to students or allowing a little something different in our homes.

    Maybe the chaos is exactly what they need! )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Five straight days with more to come may seem like a mountain too high, but from reading your slices, I suspect that you and your family will come through like gangbusters. Wishing you well.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Embracing the chaos with a great slice! I wasn’t sure where it was headed in the beginning. The image of Arnauld working the playroom with your hushed whisper yelling brought and empathetic smile to my face! You are doing a FABULOUS job!!! Miss you!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These may be the times that try mamas’ souls … but one day, all too soon, we are missing the chaos. I can so relate to that feeling of noise being too much at the end of the day and can so easily see a different reaction to the drone of “on and on and on” – but that pause to breathe before you spoke – therein lies the saving grace! Well done in the moment, Jessica, and well-captured in this all-too-real slice.

    Like

  6. There are so many of us that are experiencing this same chaos – The unstructured time that came to us unasked. Keep embracing it and be good to yourself – looking for more moments to record and laugh with!

    Like

  7. Such sweetness in this challenging time. I confess to feeling lucky to have my grown girl here with me — but grown! (Phew!) And yet — those moments of magic that I think you never miss, Jess. They are in good hands with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment