Are you leaving forever?

Saturday night I left my family at home to attend a trivia event. My leaving caused a lot of confusion…

“Where are you going” Wren and Adi both asked separately as I hurried to get dressed. I suppose changing out of my usual weekend uniform caught their attention.

“I’m just going out,” I said.

As I went to grab a pair of boots, Wren followed me. “But where are you going?”

“Yeah, where?” Adi chimed in. “A graduation? A restaurant?”

“It’s hard to explain,” I said pulling my boots on.

“Can you try?” Wren asked.

I went on to explain about fundraising and this trivia night that was set up to help fund a scholarship.

“Do you understand?” I asked the girls, still eyeing me uncomfortably.

“I guess,” Wren said, satisfied enough to return to whatever she had been playing.

“But I don’t want you to go,” Adi continues. “Daddy never feeds me and I’m hungry.”

“You’ll be fine,” I assured her. “I’ll tell Daddy to feed you.

“But are you leaving… forever?” She asked, looking up at me with her sad eyes.

Clearly, I don’t get out often.

13 thoughts on “Are you leaving forever?

  1. I can just picture this conversation with the girls all confused – that Adi, “Daddy never feeds me” – laughing! Getting out is hard sometimes, but usually, worth it! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad you made it through all of the questioning and came to trivia. It was so nice to have you there! I’m glad you returned to your beautiful girls, too. I do hope that dad fed them when they were hungry. Too funny!

    Like

    1. Cheers to you on getting out! I hope you get out more- it definitely sounds like you deserve it.
      I loved the question answering and the resumption of the one child back to the game. Sounds like my house sometimes.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “Daddy never feeds me!” Such a whopper–lol! Oh how I remember long-ago days of trying to leave the house and my children resisting my efforts. Begging, pleading, and inevitably a sad face crying at the window–and that was just my husband! lol jk! I’m glad tears didn’t feature in this moment and also glad that you got out!

    Like

  4. I think most of us have had that conversation with our kids prior to going out, because we did not do it that often. I am glad you were able to go to trivia night and I hope you had a great time.

    Like

  5. You’re at that point where going out feels harder than it’s worth– and a lot of times, it is! Love the confidence they have in Daddy– they’ll have to learn to make their own grilled cheeses or Annie’s mac and cheese…necessity’s the mother of inventions! You are going to have fun returning to these posts one day because you capture their comments so perfectly!

    Like

  6. Oh, Adi… she knows how to go for the jugular, doesn’t she? Your ending here was great. Made me chuckle (all too knowingly). Glad you got out – and hey, you got two slices out of it!

    Like

Leave a comment