Now I know…

Back then, I most admired the way your gs and ys looped.

Back then, I took for granted scanning the parked cars as I came out of school, knowing you’d always be there waiting.

Now I know the coordination that took. The scheduling. Everything that happened in between drop off and pick up. The sacrifice, so you could be the one waiting there for us each day.

Back then, I always wanted to do more. Gymnastics, soccer, piano lessons.

Now I know what that entailed. The time, the driving to and fro, the expense.

Back then, I was annoyed when you had to clean-had to hang out the clothes before this or that. The laundry, the yard work, the housework.

Now I know, that you did that for us. That so much of everything, fell on your plate. You made it happen. How much went unnoticed and unappreciated?

Back then, I always had a lunch packed in my backpack…never once forgotten.

Now I know, the effort that takes. The love that goes into every sandwich and favorite snack. The special treats sure to bring a smile.

Back then, I awaited holidays and birthdays. The abundance of beautiful presents, things I had been dreaming of. Elaborate parties, family dinners, pretty cakes.

Now I know, the thought and preparation that took. The late nights, secret keeping, hiding places. All for the anticipation of our joy.

Back then, I stood by your bedside, tears streaming down my face as I awaited your comfort when I was sick.

Now I know what if feels like to be awoken night after night. The worry you felt when we were not well. How you’d give anything to make us better.

Back then, I couldn’t wait for the next thing. The next birthday, the next year of school, the next milestone of growing up.

Now I know that growing up is bittersweet. So much to celebrate, one step closer to independence.

Back then, I needed you and relied on your love, strength, and support.

Now I need you and rely on your love, strength, and support with glowing adoration for I now know what it means to be a mom.

Happy birthday, Mom. Thanks for all that you have given and continue to give. You are so loved.

slice-of-life_individual

10 thoughts on “Now I know…

  1. What a beautiful tribute to your mother! I like your form: “Back then… ” “Now I know…” It’s perfect for this. I”m thinking I could use this form to write to my daughter.

    Like

  2. What a gorgeous post! I love the structure you used and might try it sometimes. I can feel how special your mom is and how all she has done has created you! And all you do now for your family. Funny how love works that way. I hope your mom cherishes this post and it makes her birthday even more fabulous.

    Like

  3. Your mother will love this. The way the poem highlights all of your mother’s efforts and your appreciation of each of them is so well expressed. Happy Birthday to your Mom, and happy daughter day to you!

    Like

  4. Fabulous, love packed slice. You captured the perspective with “back then” and “now I know” eloquently. It is an incredible honor to your mom from a mom, her daughter. And you thought you were running out of ideas! Never! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. I love this. I like the structure of “back then” and “now”. It reminds me of something I do with my students at the end of the school year… “I used to think….now I know…” Happy Birthday, Ida!

    Like

  6. I loved the “Back then/Now’ style. If really captures how much we depended on our mother and all that mothers do to make our lives better. I had an epiphany when I was baby sitting 5 kids under ten. I called my mom and thanked her for all she did for me and apologized for taking it for granted. Thank you for reminding us how amazing moms are!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Love your reflecting back and relating it to your “today”. What a fun format: “Back Then” and “Now I know”. My mama left this earth almost 11 years ago. I wrote a piece I’ll have to find for my blog this month called “My Mother’s Hands”. It reminds me of your slice of life today, reflecting on all that our mothers do/did for us and others that often we forget to pause and say thank you for.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment