Did That Really Happen?

8:30 pm and Rose is already crying from her crib. I wait to see if she settles herself back down. After a few minutes, it is clear this isn’t going to sooth itself. My husband goes into try and calm her down. I’m still laying in bed with Adi who has just stopped belting out her crazy bedtime tunes-anything that passes through her three year old brain. Still wide eyed, she watches to see if I’m going to leave to rescue her dad and sister. I wait.

Quiet and then more crying as Rose refuses to go back to bed. I hear Arnauld head for the stairs. “Do you have Rose?” I whisper into the darkness.

“Yes,” he whispers back.

I climb out of Adi’s twin size bed, promising to return as I decide to try and get Rose down myself. I’m confident Arnauld wasn’t doing it right.

That was the start of our very long night. When Rose refused to go back to bed for me, I knew things were serious. Her painful cries told us that something wasn’t right, although she had been fine all day. She had no other symptoms.

Through the wee hours of the night, I discovered that Rose could fall asleep if I stood and swayed back and forth in the kitchen. The only light coming from the moon and the kitchen clock, slowing ticking through the night. Her little head resting perfectly on my shoulder, I was made for this. Her little left hand resting on my cheek.

There were stretches that I could sit up in bed, careful not to disturb my sleeping bundle. As I watched the clock creep closer and closer to morning, I was both delirious and in awe that it was just the mere act of holding my sweet baby that brought her comfort-that got her through the night.

As the sun awoke, so did Rose. Giggling and babbling happily. *Did last night really happen?

*Oh, it happened! This has been our new routine just about every other night for the last week. Two trips to the pediatrician tell us that there is nothing going on with her ears or throat. “Maybe she’s lonely…” one doctor suggested. I’m hoping that it is just new teeth making their way to the surface, for our Rose shouldn’t have any reason to ever feel lonely!

slice-of-life_individual

15 thoughts on “Did That Really Happen?

  1. Oh, those long nights! I remember them well. I’m so impressed that you could savor some of the beauty of those moments (“her little head resting on my shoulder”) as the clock ticked on through the night. I also loved the line, “I’m confident Arnauld wasn’t doing it right.” lol I hope you get some answers or at least some sleep.

    Like

  2. Oh, yes, those long nights, but quick years! I hope Rose gets her sleeping sorted sooner. I used to tell my second son that it was a lucky thing he was second, otherwise, there would not have been a second (in my head in the middle of the night when he was not sleeping again!). You captured the stress of parenting here.

    Like

  3. Wow! It does sound like a really long night, but it also sounds like you handled it with love and lots and lots of patience! A beautiful slice!

    Like

  4. Those nights of baby holding are glorious and exhausting. I hope everyone gets some sleep soon! I did learn a new tip the other day–warming up the crib with a heating pad before putting baby down; perhaps that would work?

    Like

  5. The feeling of exhaustion and frustration paired with the feeling of love and settling a baby are well done in this post. I’m glad she is OK, but sorry you are having such tough nights.

    Like

  6. “I’m confident Arnauld wasn’t doing it right.” Of course he wasn’t doing it right, he’s not the mom, he’s the dad – the mom’s way is the “right” way – or at least that’s what mom’s have a tendency to think! That line really made me chuckle! The line questioning the reality of the night brings closure to piece yet you chose to open it up again with that final paragraph with a pediatrician’s idea – which is, in my opinion, hysterical! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  7. Your post brings me back so many years ago. Being a mom is a work in progress. No matter the age of our offspring we are always “mom” or “mommy”– the one on call always. How did you respond to “Maybe she’s lonely”? Seriously.

    Like

    1. I must have laughed. This question cake after he asked “has she let you k ow what’s bothering her?” She’s nine months old! Luckily, he wasn’t Our regular doctor.

      Like

  8. I know these nights all too well. Sometimes our kiddos just need Mommy’s touch. Our smell. Our beating heart. Our comfy chest that they seem to fit perfectly all snuggled against. Enjoy these sweet moments, although they are absolutely trying, they are fleeting as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment