Magic #olw2024

On Wednesday, our family took a drive to the mall. A few years back, a nearby town built a brand new mall, one that we never visited until my oldest daughter had a dance event there. Like so many others, we are no longer mall people. However, we found ourselves back there over the holiday break, picking up gifts purchased at the last minute…by my husband.

We mostly just walked around and at the end, got the girls pretzels and lemonade. As we made our way back to our car, Rose’s hand in mine, she looked up at me and said, “This was the best Wednesday ever.” She went on to explain that usually they have school and dance class. Seriously, who gets to go to the mall on a Wednesday? I loved her perspective.

Later in the week, as the New Year approached, I saw someone’s post that said something like, your life is full of magic. If you believe that, you will see it. Writing this now, it makes me think about my very first OLW, joy. It’s always there, we just have to be willing to see it. I spent a lot of the last few days of break, just pausing (another OLW from the past) and watching my kids and my family. I let my life get busy. I fill up my days and have and endless to do list. I know I’m missing things and not always savoring the moments I should.

Last week, Melanie texted the TWT group chat and asked if we were all choosing OLW for 2024. I wrote back that I was not planning to choose a word, but I could if she needed me to. I was uninspired.

However, this morning, as I woke up and read a few people’s OLW posts for the new year, I felt the need to write. Maybe I felt the magic of this writing community? Whatever it was, I’m going with magic as my OLW.

10 thoughts on “Magic #olw2024

  1. Magic! I love it. Right now I’m a “no” on OLW, but this post is making me wonder if there might be one out there for me. In the meantime, I’m glad you had such a great Wednesday.

    Like

  2. That word is such a great way to step into 2024….magic! A lot of what we see depends on what we’re looking for, and that’s one of the reasons I believe in the power of the One Little Word – – they give us a focus for seeing things we wouldn’t ordinarily see.

    Like

  3. I love how that simple excursion and your daughter’s reaction to it prompted this thinking. Magic is a word I wouldn’t have thought of, but how wonderful a lens to take! I recently read a piece about recognizing small moments of delight in our days, and I think that is the same as your magic. I’m gonna work on that, myself!

    Like

  4. The world needs magic right now. Maybe we can collectively will it into the places and people missing it. You’ve given us a kind of prayer, a magical wish for 2024. And have you read Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert? It’s one of my favorite books.

    Like

Leave a comment