Through Five Year Old Eyes

I’ve been gathering up small moments that give me a glimpse of the world through my five year old’s eyes…Here’s one I’ve been sitting on:

New Years Eve

At 10pm, I knew midnight would be a stretch. We had done puzzles, had snacks, and had just finished watching a movie. The girls were whining. They were already tired. When I gently suggested that we all go to bed, Rose replied, “but we have to watch the ball fall.”

A quick YouTube search later, I found the ball drop from 2022. The girls huddled around my phone to watch.

Obviously underwhelmed Rose said, “That’s not what I imagined…I imagined someone on the moon throwing a ball down to earth.”

We all stared back at her wide eyed before cracking up laughing.

15 thoughts on “Through Five Year Old Eyes

  1. Imagination greater than reality. Your slice reminds me that we have an inner child that has a wild imagination and we might seek this child more often.

    Like

  2. P.S. I’m so glad you saved this moment in a slice. It will go down in family history, as it should. Rose may have a time when she gets tired of hearing it, but then it will just become a classic.

    Like

  3. I would want to stay up, too, if someone was throwing a ball from the moon. Much more exciting than the reality. Great capture of a tiny moment that could otherwise slip through your fingers.

    Like

  4. Not only do I love the content here, but I love the way you wrote it! This is one of the best closing lines to a slice I’ve read,
    “We all stared back at her wide eyed before cracking up laughing.”
    Thanks for the laugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well this was just delightful! I have a 6- and 2-year-old son, and can relate to the sometimes random and unanticipated insights. It definitely keeps life interesting! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment