Independence.

I’ve had my eye on Rose lately. Soon, she will turn five. When I first started slicing, I was pregnant with her. In so many ways, she still feels like a baby. Our middle daughter says we baby Rose. Maybe we do. But, five always makes me emotional and Rose will be my last baby to turn five. So much of who I have been the last ten years has been a mom of little kids. Sometimes, the emotions that come with my nine year old make me want to turn back time.

Today, I’m home with Rose. She woke up complaining about her ear. So, we are heading back to the doctor for the second time this week. This day is giving me extra time to just soak her up.

We just got home from walking her sister’s to school. As we walked home, she reminded me that she hadn’t had breakfast yet. So, when we walked in the house, she got right to work getting herself some breakfast. She got the yogurt from the fridge and carefully spooned some into a bowl. Next, she got the granola from the pantry and poured some in. Then, she took her bowl to the table, where she settled in with a book, She Spoke, 14 Women Who Raised Their Voices and Changed the World. It has sound buttons, so you can listen to strong women share their words. Rose is partial to Hillary Clinton. “If there is one message that echoes forth from this conference, let it be that human rights are women’s rights and women’s rights are human rights once and for all…” It all feels so grown up.

Happily getting herself some breakfast.
A little light reading over breakfast.
Using her homemade binoculars to search for leprechauns and rainbows.

10 thoughts on “Independence.

  1. Love the contrast between getting herself yogurt and granola, reading a not-so-light-hearted picture book, and searching for rainbows and leprechauns. I bet you have a few more years of magic hunting with Rose, but yes, mothering does change. Somehow, I think you’ll continue to soak in and find the joy of every stage, Jess.

    Like

  2. I have a daughter too. She is now 13 and yes, mothering changes but you are always a mom. My daughter is independent yet still sneaks snuggles and hugs. She still pours out her heart, on her own terms of course. Soak it in. You’ll soon have an independent daughter and friend by your side.

    Like

  3. Love her choice in breakfast foods and that she reads while eating. Her choice in reading is also wonderful: women who have changed the world. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and inspiring pictures.

    Like

  4. Five! I can’t believe it. I too thought what a contrast- listening to Hilary and then searching for Leprechauns. I hope Rose is feeling better soon.

    Like

  5. “So much of who I have been the last ten years has been a mom of little kids.”
    This is such a salient line. The stages we go through as moms are so varied, so interesting, so challenging, and so fleeting. Savor as much as you can from each – the binoculars – priceless!

    Like

  6. What a little window into your life with Rose. I love this challenge because without it, this memory may have been forgotten, but now you’ll remember it forever. Love her independence and choice of books! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment