Three Slicers Meet in the Hallway…

“I don’t have a slice,” I whined to Dawn as we walked towards the main office after dismissal.

“Yes you do,” she replied, always an optimist. “What did we talk about for a long time this morning?”

“I don’t know,” I whined some more.

By that time, Peter was coming towards the main office, megaphone in hand. We all shared our slicing dilemmas. Everyone’s bank was dry.

“I think I have some dead flowers at home,” I said, remembering Dawn’s slice from last week. “I also have OG [Orton Gillingham] training tomorrow…I’m sure something thrilling will happen there.”

“Just write about how OG training is gangster,” Peter said.

“You would think something like that,” I laughed as Dawn began to tell her story of what she thinks of when she hears OG.

After that, we all went our separate ways-maybe with fresh ideas spinning in our minds. Thank goodness for friends who write.

13 thoughts on “Three Slicers Meet in the Hallway…

  1. This resonated with me, so great that you have a crew to slice with and like a great writer you were paying close attention in the moment. The dialogue makes it real! 😉

    Like

  2. I love reading you three as you write – though I’ve been sadly neglecting Dawn this month in the flurry of commenting. (Sorry Dawn!) In fact, I was inspired by you to invite Melanie & Tobi to write – we’re not in the same school, but we can text for slicing help. Also, I ❤ Orton Gillingham and *of course* Peter calls it "gangster" – ha!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So funny – how we step into the writing process. I think we need to tell kids more often that writer’s block and thinking about what to write and sharing that we have no idea what we are going to write – IS PART OF THE PROCESS! Thanks for this – made me smile.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You are lucky to have each other! I am glad I have the three of you too for inspiration! I told Erika she is going to help me with a slice this week since she was there and I need some help with the details.

    Like

Leave a comment