Happy Birthday Mimi!

March 9th’s Slice is always dedicated to my mom because it’s her birthday. Today, I had each of my daughter’s share a favorite memory. Yesterday was International Women’s Day and I couldn’t help but think of the women whose shoulders I stand upon. I’m so grateful to have my mom so close and to be such a big part of our lives. I’m so glad that my kids love her so much and that when they aren’t with me, they get to spend so much of their time with her.

Wren (age 9)

My favorite memory with Mimi was at my Uncle Weethne’s wedding. It was right after the ceremony and we had gone into the dining room. We sat down at our assigned seats and as soon as the last person sat down, music started playing. All the bridesmaids, groomsmen, and the officiant (aka my dad) came out and started dancing. Then, my Uncle and Aunt started dancing. Soon, everyone was dancing. Mimi pulled me out of my seat. “Let’s go dance,” she said as we made our way to the dance floor hand in hand. The next song started playing. I didn’t know it, but Mimi had already started dancing. I guess she knew the song. She grabbed my arms and waved them in the air. I smiled and began to move my feet to match hers. Soon, I was laughing and having fun. But, that wasn’t the end of it. Another song started playing. Everyone else formed a circle and people went into the circle, one at a time. I remember an older lady went in. I recognized her from gatherings at my aunt’s families house. She was my dad’s fourth grade teacher! She tried to do the “newer” dances and I could see my Mimi smiling. She whispered in my ear, “She looks like she’s having fun.” That’s when the lady in the middle started doing the chicken dance. Soon Mimi and I joined in. We laughed so hard.

Adi (age 7)

It was winter and I was at Mimi’s house. She said, “Let’s go for a walk.” She went out to get the stroller and then we started to walk a little. Then, we held hands to cross the street. Mimi said, “It’s very windy.” We walked to one of our favorite spots, we call it the forest. Mimi was holding onto the stroller and so was I. She started to run, which made me run too. I was thinking that it was really fun. At the bottom of the hill, I said, “Can we do it again?”

Rose (age 4)

I went to Mimi’s. Then I did a craft with her. It was a turkey. It was on Thanksgiving. It was fun because it had funny wings and feathers and sparkly wings. It was fun. I love going to Mimi’s house.

Happy birthday, Mom! We love you!

9 thoughts on “Happy Birthday Mimi!

  1. This is a beautiful tradition that I hope you hold onto. I have so many connections… I have three daughters, my birthday is March 10th, I just lost my mother, their Bubbe a few months ago, and now I am a Bubbe. It’s those small,moments that matter. How wonderful that you’re teaching your girls this and that they have so much love in their lives.

    Like

  2. I love your idea to dedicate a slice to your Mom’s birthday and how you’ve written your daughters’ memories with Mimi. What a wonderful tribute that grows each year. Happy birthday, Mimi!

    Like

  3. This is beyond sweet! It’s inspiring me to start having my kids recall memories with my mom so I can give them to her later this year (when she has a milestone birthday).
    So glad your mom is close. She is so special to your girls!

    Like

  4. Happy Birthday, Ida! This is a sweet gift to her. It will be so special for her to hear their choices and perspective.

    Like

  5. For me it’s especially sweet that your girls are remembering their grandmother on her birthday when I am remembering mine on her birthday. She sounds terrific. Of course she is because you are.

    Like

Leave a comment