Alive

“It felt alive in here today!”

“I agree. It did.”

These were the whispered comments I exchanged with a Karen, fifth grade teacher, today at the tail end of writing workshop. I have been pushing in to work with this class during an argument writing unit. At the end of yesterday’s session, Karen and I had exchanged masked whispers, making a plan to wrap up the first bend of the unit. This is how coaching conversations happen these days, stolen whispers at the beginning or end of class. We had decided that kids would use a development checklist to make revisions related to the craft in their essays.

When I got to class the next day, I quickly touched base with Karen and decided to pull a group of writers that could use a push. “Let’s meet with them in partnerships, get them working together,” I suggested.

I called Leo and Frank down to the one corner of the room free of desks and plexiglass. We began by looking at the checklist and started talking about the power of precise words. “I was just working on that,” Leo said. “I added a Gordan Korman quote.” He went on to read a quote that went something like, remember who you serve. “And schools serve kids. So, they have to keep kids safe. So that’s why chocolate milk shouldn’t be allowed in schools.”

“That is one way to make a point, ” I replied, impressed with Leo’s use of a quote from his fiction reading in his argument essay.

I then offered another example, of looking for words that could be more precise, like good or bad. I gave the students a quick tip about using the thesaurus and just like that, they were sharing their documents and working together to find words to make their arguments stronger. We left them to work and then Karen and I split and each pulled separate groups.

Before, moving on, I looked up and noticed the student who was sitting at the desk closest to our group, gazing down at us. “Sorry. Did we distract you from your writing?” I asked.

“No. I was just mesmerized by that tool (the thesaurus) that you were showing them,” he replied. I left him with a post-it with thesaurus.com written for him to explore as well. I love when kids eavesdrop on a small group.

After my second group, I noticed a group of four students kind of hanging out by the back of the room. They were “done.”

“Quick, grab your essays,” I said. “I want to teach you something.”

Before I knew it, those students were paired up and chatting excitedly about ways to beef up their essays.

Between Karen and I, we had met with almost all the kids in the class.

There was an excited hum. I stood up and watched tiny, socially distanced, clusters of fifth graders chatting about words, offering suggestions, and writing sentences in the air, trying to get them just right.

Karen and I met in the center of the classroom.

“It felt alive in here today!”

“I agree. It did.”

16 thoughts on “Alive

  1. There’s nothing more satisfying than writing workshop. It might be my favorite place on earth. Thesaurus! Genius! I am so happy for you. We have been grieving that time as coaches, just getting in there. I’ll be writing about first grade writers today.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you’re enjoying your time back in the classroom. I can’t wait to put live streaming and hybrid school behind me. You’re blog post shows the seeking of joy… one day at a time.

    Like

  3. There is nothing like conferring in person. Virtual visits made us appreciate them all the more! And wow. How exciting to see fifth grade enthusiasm for words. Kudos to you!

    Like

  4. That’s some good teaching caught in this post! I love that a student is memorized by a thesaurus. I remember how long I’d spend looking for and at words, even when they had nothing to do with my work in progress.

    Like

  5. I appreciated the “excited hum” of this classroom despite all the challenges we are facing- masks and plexiglass- that might not necessarily make it the most comfortable. So much learning obtained- makes me think that kids will learn despite us, despite it all.
    TY for this slice!!

    Like

  6. I appreciated the “excited hum” of this classroom despite all the challenges we are facing- masks and plexiglass- that might not necessarily make it the most comfortable. So much learning obtained- makes me think that kids will learn despite us, despite it all.
    TY for this slice!!

    Like

  7. This post makes ME feel alive! You expressed so beautifully how your coaching of this teacher and class was such an inspiring experience. There is nothing better then to teach and meet kids where they are at and that’s exactly what you captured here! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  8. Love the “excited hum” descriptions of this classroom as you so nicely caught the rich learning that was happening. Despite the plexiglass, despite the masked whispers. It makes me feel like kids will learn despite all the challenges of now, and that too brings relief. TY for capturing this slice!

    Like

  9. YES!! Schools are coming alive again! First with students and now with coaching! Coaching conversations and small groups! You capture the work you are so skilled at here – working with kids, working with teachers, and responsive teaching (which, you do virtually AND in person!). My favorite moment here is when proximity moment when the 5th grader is taken in with the thesaurus. Those moment are THE BEST when one is a classroom – it can be an unexpected learning through small groups! AND you noticed him which made his listening in purposeful!!

    Like

  10. I can feel the energy in this classroom just by reading your words! Not being present in classrooms this year has left a giant hole in my heart, and I’m so thankful things are starting to shift to a place where we can do this work again. This workshop sounds like a wonderful place to be!

    Like

Leave a comment