Connected

Today I spent three plus hours in a Google Hangout…I know we’ve all spent our fair share of time in one virtual environment or another in the last ten days. Today’s meetings went by in the blink of an eye… because I got to reconnect with each grade level team at our school. It was the first time I had seen many of these people in two full weeks. It was the first time I got to ask them how it was going and check in with them in the closest way we could get to “in person.”

I was anxious going into the first meeting. Were teachers stressed and overwhelmed? How were we going to move forward with instruction and connecting with kids in this strange new world?

Within the first few moments of my first meeting, my worries evaporated. These were the same people I know so well, doing the same good work…just in some new and unusual ways.

As we talked about plans moving forward, I was excited to hear teams thinking about the work we had been doing in classrooms and how they’d been thinking of creative ways to continue. For instance, our kindergarten and first grade teams have spent much of this year strengthening their guided reading instruction. Both teams shared ideas for continuing this work through distance learning…because they know the value and they are eager to get it going again.

Our upper grade teams shared the ways they’ve kept the work from their classrooms going online. Many had recorded read alouds that they were in the middle of when school closed. Their kids are writing and revising, going through the writing process without missing a beat.

More importantly, the teachers shared about ways they’ve been connecting with kids…how eager kids are to share their adventures being home, sending videos to show their work, and how they sometimes get emotional when on a call with their teacher. The teachers glowed as they recounted conversations and connections made with their students. And, in every meeting, we talked about creating more opportunities for kids to connect to one another and our school community.

My three hours were over before I knew it and I’m pretty sure I was glowing too. It felt good to be connected again with my people, talking literacy, and being a community working towards something great.

15 thoughts on “Connected

  1. Yes, connecting virtually was good! Your leadership made it feel normal! The permissions that teachers felt to do what feels right for kids were apparent in all the meetings as was all the behind the scenes work you have done!

    Like

  2. You must feel proud of your district and the work they and the teachers are doing in service to our kids – and you must take some ownership in guiding them to that place.

    Like

  3. Strange times these are. Feeling connected is so important, now more than ever. While I have met with my class, my grade level team, and my coach many times over the last two weeks, yesterday was our first full faculty meeting and it was so wonderful to see their faces, see them holding their dogs, and others their young children. It gave me some hope that this will be ok. I’m awfully glad it’s Friday, though! Be well!

    Like

  4. it’s amazing how much that time to “see” each other can make us feel still connected, a part of something. I’m excited to hear about what they are trying. I’m sure it made their day to connect with you!

    Like

  5. You always have the ability to look at the good things in your life. Staying connected is so important, and your friends and colleagues seem to be on the same page. How great is that!

    Like

  6. Yay! So glad to hear that your meetings went well and that there were so many highlights to share. It really makes a difference to know that when teams are aligned and share purpose then great things are possible even in the most difficult of times. Congrats!

    Like

  7. As an introvert, I started this seclusion feeling pretty secure that there would be aspects of this time apart that would not be as difficult for someone who appreciates time alone. Yet, the joy that these connections have brought are incredible. So thankful for technology that allows for this. Your love for your students overflows in your writing. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  8. You and your colleagues are doing amazing things!
    That’s a lot of time to be staring at a screen. I hope all of you are taking some eye/vision breaks. I know, when I taught online, I had to force myself to do that.

    Like

  9. This sounds like exactly the kind of day that refuels us to do this work! I’d love to hear your teachers’ thoughts on guided reading…I think the small group instruction is where I’m feeling the most lost in directing my teachers right now!

    Like

Leave a comment