We’re in Charge of Celebrations

This isn’t the party I planned for you.

Today I wanted to shower you with all of the joys you have given me.

Today I wanted to be present so I could give you uninterrupted time and attention.

Today I wanted to write a numbered list, matching your age, to weave together all of the moments you’ve orchestrated that I treasure.

Today I wanted to cook you a meal that we could share together and bake a cake decorated like it came from a bakery.

Today, I wanted to fill a room with all of the people that love you most and squeeze you in a giant group hug.

Today, I wanted to find just the right gift to show you that I see you and know you.

Today I wanted to take away the hard and the stress and make you feel light.

Today I wanted to make you happy, to see you smile because we were celebrating you.

Today, a friend reminded me that birthdays are somewhat artificial. We are in charge of celebrations.

So today, I give you a rain check for the party that will not occur today, but on another day- A day we choose and can fill with all the sun and love you deserve.

Happy birthday Mom. I love you. ❤️

21 thoughts on “We’re in Charge of Celebrations

  1. Such a lyrical slice from the heart … and a reminder that the “best-laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” This post IS a celebration! A beautiful one, with love in every line and in that photo. Happy birthday to your mom; I am thinking what a gift you are to her. 🙂

    Like

  2. May we celebrate our wonderful mums every day through their grandchildren. And for those of us lucky enough, our dads too. Here’s to paying it forward as best we can.

    Like

  3. This is such a tribute to your mom, and to your deep love for her. I’m sorry you didn’t get to celebrate her on her day, but you will celebrate, and you will give her all of these beautiful things. I hope she has seen this post (or will on her celebration day).

    Like

  4. This was the best slice – what a tribute to your mom! I hope you will print or write this and frame it perhaps with a photo of the two of you. This poem is a gift in and of itself. The words will thrill her heart and certainly echo the love you have for your mom. Just beautiful!

    Like

  5. The actual celebration will come at some time, and it will be great. Until then, this is an amazing rain check. It celebrates and appreciates, and it will warm her heart.

    Like

  6. Lovely reflection. I love the way you enumerate all the ways you want to celebrate your mom. When the time comes, you will all enjoy it all the more. Nicely done.

    Like

  7. While it’s not the celebration you wanted, it’s something created with the love of a daughter. The celebration may not happen when you wanted it, the love will always be there.

    Thank you for this thoughtful slice! 🙂

    Like

  8. Life gets so busy that what we want for others doesn’t always happen as we plan. The celebration of your Mom will happen and I imagine it happens in every kiss and smile she gets from those who love her – Rose’s face with your mom’s in the pic is a gift in and of itself! Happy Happy Birthday!!!

    Like

Leave a comment