What’s the News?

As a third and first grade classroom teacher, I often combined catching up with my students after the weekend with a Morning Meeting greeting or share. One of my favorites was “What’s the News?” Kids would greet each other around the circle and ask, “What’s the News?” Sometimes I’d have the students brainstorm their response, preparing to share just one word about their weekend, other times we worked to elaborate or to share our favorite part with details to explain. For my students, the greeting was just a fun way to share about the happenings of the weekend. For me, it was a way to layer practice with listening, speaking, and oral rehearsal for some of the writing we were doing.

At the beginning of this school year, Adi, my kindergarten daughter, was talking to her older sister in the car, talking about what she had shared for her weekend greeting. “I said dance. I always say dance.”

“I talked about riding in the jeep with you and Rosie,” Wren told Adi.

My ears perked up. “Do you always share about your weekends?” I asked. They girls nodded.

After that conversation, I made a point of asking the girls what they shared about each Monday, interested to hear what tidbit from the weekend stood out to them.

This morning, after Adi’s shower, she stood bundled in her towel as I brushed her curls. “I don’t know what to share about tomorrow,” she announced, a serious look on her face. “I could tell about Harold [our Elf on the Shelf] and how we found him this morning or getting our Christmas tree.” She seemed really stumped.

Fresh off of shared writing in kindergarten, I decided to see if we could do some story telling practice…combing curls takes some time. “If you were going to tell the story about Harold, how would it go? Which part would you tell first?”

“How I came down the stairs and saw Harold on the calendar and then I was talking to him.”

“Would the talking part go on the next page if you were writing a book?” I asked.

“Yes!” Adi exclaimed and then started again, this time revising her story and letting me know when she would start a new page. “I came down the stairs with Wren and saw Harold on the calendar. We read the note. Turn the page. Then I was talking to Harold and telling him I wanted a goat for Christmas and asking how Santa was. Turn the page. Then I ate the chocolate from my calendar.”

A little while later, deep in my Sunday To Do List, Adi began following me around, whining that she had nothing to do.

“Write your story,” I suggested. “The one about Harold.”

That was all she needed to get started. Before I knew it, she was set up with paper, a stapler, and crayons. She worked quietly for quite a while before reappearing to read me her book.

IMG_4083img_4084.jpgimg_4085.jpg

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “What’s the News?

  1. The ups and downs and ins and out of school and home make me think that our work as teachers and mothers has us a web where every line and thought, not matter the setting, is connected. Adi, the writer, is inspiring.

    Like

  2. And so lifelong writers are born … out of love for storytelling and a spark from someone who truly loves the craft. What a gift that it should be mom! And what a gift to us all, to watch it unfold.

    Like

  3. That is so fabulous! I love that she couldn’t wait to tell her story, and she did such a great job. My 11-year-old “writes” with her voice all the time. It’s like she’s constantly rehearsing before drafting. Thanks for sharing!
    Jan
    Laughter and Consistency

    Like

  4. I’m so impressed with this. First, I love love love the “turn the page” prompt. How cool is that? Second, I need to tell you that if I were to ask a room full of reluctant high school learners to tell about their weekend in one word, I would hear a chorus of “nothing.” I regularly ban the word “nothing,” leading to child after child telling me “this weekend I slept.” SIGH. It can take me up to two months to convince them all to share… Maybe I’ll share Adi’s story & see if that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Let me know how it goes! Maybe try a different invitation… “best part of your weekend?” I’m sure they just need some practice! I’m more and more intrigued by the innate abilities of the younger kids… so much less getting in the way!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment