Stars Align

“What are you two giggling about down there,” my friend Ali asked as Elena and I threw our heads back in laughter.

“It’s almost Tuesday. We blog on Tuesdays. We don’t have anything to write about,” I said as I calmed a little wave of panic that tried to rise up, not going to let that happen tonight. “Quick, do something funny.” The rest of the table may have looked at us like we were crazy, sending Elena and I into fits of laughter again. “I always have something written by now,” I whisper to Elena. “I always post in the morning.”

She just laughed. So, I did too.

Tonight was one of those nights. The stars magically aligned and a semi-spontaneous night out happened with almost all of the “hens.” With fifteen children between us and the irregularity of our summer schedules, eight out of nine of my group of friends, all connected by one school, KHS, made it out on a Monday for tacos and talking.

I often write about what I’ve learned or how I’ve grown as a teacher. Another job perk has been the friends, rather family, I have gained along the way. I have grown up with this group of ladies. We have experienced such great joys alongside one another, as well as loss and heartache. They keep me sane on the crazy days and connected when I feel alone. We no longer all work at the same school, but our bond runs deep. For that I am grateful.

 

hens

img_2767-6

14 thoughts on “Stars Align

  1. First – I can relate to the sense of panic on “It’s time for a post; I’ve got nothing to write about!” One day I said to myself “Look, you CHOSE to create and maintain this blog as a means of stretching and growing; it’s okay to take a break.” How freeing that idea was – so much so that an idea came and I managed to write. And posted at a different time, as writing doesn’t always come to me on my terms! Secondly – how gratitude floods the soul with endless things to write about, more so, I think, than any other emotion, It pours forth, real and pure, in your post. What a celebration of relationships and life.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Love and agree with all the Fran said! I think you’re going to have a lot of people who relate to the feeling of panic on Monday night when your post hasn’t tapped your shoulder yet! It sounds like you have amazing women in your life and I love that you recognize it and celebrate it!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This post is so full of happiness. I can hear you and Elena laughing and talking, and I can feel the love between and among all of your amazing friends. I’m so impressed with the way you and your KHS family have found ways to get together and stay connected across the years. That is a sign of true friendship! Here’s to finding ideas to write about on a Monday night!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It must be summer brain because, like Fran said, I was ready to give myself a break. Not for lack of ideas but lack of focus on any one idea! Spontaneous gatherings are loaded with extra energy as your picture and slice capture! Yay, you, Yay KHS, Yay Hens! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Well, I have that feeling a lot, and, as you know, I often don’t exactly push through it. Then I feel a bit guilty. I agree with Fran about gratitude being the most fruitful emotion for writing. That comes through in this slice. Have you noticed the high concentration of Westporters among the first posters this morning. I felt like I knew more than half of the people. You can take some credit for that!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I keep telling myself it would be ok to take a break- but something always comes. I’m pretty proud of the writing community we are growing together. I think it’s good for all of us- personally, professionally, and for our students. I’m grateful for all of that too!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, yes – the “I have nothing to write about” is a familiar feeling. On some days I don’t blog. How wonderful that so many of you were able to get together for enjoyable time. How wonderful that you wrote a slice.

    Like

Leave a comment