Trap

A few years ago, my sister texted a picture of a colorful box plastered in green and rainbow designs. “What’s that?” I remember asking. She went on to describe her oldest son’s homework assignment, to create a leprechaun trap. “For school?” I asked. I had never heard of such a thing. But over the years, she has sent similar photos, nearly every March, capturing creations made by her other sons as they started going to school.

Then, last week, as I emptied my own daughter’s home/school folder, there it was. An assignment to create a leprechaun trap as a family. I quickly tossed the paper into the “for another time” pile on the kitchen counter and made a note to deal with that on the weekend. Meanwhile, Wren was over the moon about this homework. Each day, she mentioned ideas like, “Maybe there can be a ladder for the leprechaun…or maybe there can be a pot of fake gold.” I half listened not wanting to face the assignment.

Then this morning, as various parts of school lunches and salad jars sat in disarray on the kitchen counters and the green light on the waffle iron signaled that someone’s breakfast was ready, Wren came stomping through the kitchen. “I wanted to make a leprechaun trap today!” she huffed.

Well, let me just drop what I’m doing,” I thought to myself.

Keeping my thoughts to myself and trying to hold the morning together (did I mention my husband conveniently went into work for a few hours…on a Sunday?), I channeled the Maker Space I observed in our school library last week. Kids were busy creating, with carefully drawn plans laid in front of them.

“Well, you need to make a plan,” I said to Wren. “You can’t just make a leprechaun trap. Do you have an idea of what your trap might look like?” I pulled out the iPad and clicked on Pinterest…where else does one go for exemplar leprechaun traps?!?

Wren disappeared with the iPad, only to return a little while later with a list of materials she needed. She sat on the kitchen floor, marker in hand, asking me what materials we had and checking off as she went. Together we brainstormed substitutes for any items we didn’t have and I firmly said, “No!” to the glitter.IMG_9902

Still not ready to jump in, the kitchen sink full of dirty dishes since our new dishwasher has not been installed yet, I needed to buy more time. “You need a plan of how it’s going to go,” I said. “Like, what is it going to look like?”

She disappeared again and while she was gone, Adi appeared with her list of materials. Apparently she gave herself a leprechaun trap assignment.

IMG_9889
Adi’s list.

Some time later, Wren reappeared with handwritten steps for each part of the trap she wanted to create. I was surprised because I had assumed she would have sketched a drawing to show her vision. I quickly spotted my next move. This time I sent her off to complete step seven, “Make a rainbow out of paper.” I knew she could do this without my help.

IMG_9903

When all the kitchen chores were done and it was semi cleaned up, I grabbed a couple of cardboard boxes from the basement and joined my excited daughters at the kitchen table to construct their leprechaun traps.

As they worked they asked questions like, “Do you think he’ll really fall in?” When considering the perfect position for the faux gold Wren suggested gluing it down, “Cause then if he really goes to get them, they’ll be stuck.”

In my head I was wondering how her teacher had introduced this assignment and what these kids thought was going to happen!

IMG_9894

As we neared the end of construction, and a lesson on “less is more”, Wren whispered to me, out of earshot of Adi, “I know leprechauns aren’t actually real…”

“So why are we making this trap?” I asked.

“Because school said so,” she replied.

At that point, I was probably more confused by the assignment than when we started, but I’m a joy seeker, not a joy sucker. Plus, it kept my stir crazy crew busy planning, writing, and building long enough to keep them out of my hair for a while. I’ll take it.

IMG_9901
The finished pieces.
IMG_9895
And here’s Rose, just because she’s cute. She had no interest in trapping leprechauns. She was just happy to sit at the table and play with her baby.

img_2767-3

19 thoughts on “Trap

  1. I have to say, this appeals to me way more than lots of HW we have had come home. Hooray for creativity and writing and building and sticking…and NO glitter.

    Like

  2. Your frustration and the business of the morning/day came through loud and clear. I was all for Wren’s creativity and literacy work, and Adi’s too, but then the “pow” – “I know leprechaun’s aren’t real”! That hit me hard! Still she wanted to engage in the creation and her determination came through! Yay you for remaining calm and letting it all play itself out! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought this part really showed your frustration at the moment – “as various parts of school lunches and salad jars sat in disarray on the kitchen counters and the green light on the waffle iron signaled that someone’s breakfast was ready, Wren came stomping through the kitchen. “I wanted to make a leprechaun trap today!” she huffed.” But then the slice takes an interesting turn….you figure out a way to make everything work for everyone. You get to clean up and get organized, the two girls get to create and complete their assignment, and Rose gets to keep looking cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think it worked. They captured the spirit of the assignment…with your help. Wren did some planning. She also served as role model. You did the gratification delaying (and supporting, since it wouldn’t have been so successful without a little planning), and the pot of gold was the slice at the end of the rain…y day.

    Like

  5. I loved how yoour story went back and forth – you with so many chores and Wren working hard to plan and make. It added more tension to the story. So glad you added photos, too! What a weekend homework assignment!

    Like

  6. Wren and Adi did the planning, the listing, the idea making themselves! That’s so important. I know that you would have channeled that response even if you hadn’t been busy, but it was serendipitous that you were busy. Love the finished products.

    Like

  7. Yeesh, lots of work (on a weekend no less). I loved the twists and turns of your story. Thanks for the great pictures too (something I need to do better at is adding helpful, or cute, pictures in slices).

    Like

  8. I loved this post Jess. I think this assignment is equal parts weird and really fun. It feels like it should go on a list of maker space homework with more choice so that everyone does not have to do such a weird assignment. Once again, I find myself wishing that I was part of your household. One can dream…

    Like

  9. Sounds like a fun day of making memories! My first grader came out of school carrying his own trap this afternoon—luckily our school had mercy on parents and had the kids design and build with their older buddies. Love your response to glitter—sounds like there’s a slice or two about glitter waiting to be written!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Boy oh boy are you ever showing your elementary-school-teacher colors here – and I am impressed! Look at models, make a list, make a plan… what great steps. Also, your writing really conveys the mix of frustration – “I have a household to run, people!” – and love/creativity/fun – “let’s see what you can do!” Full disclosure: my younger one once decided *on his own* to create a leprechaun trap as a get-rich-quick scheme. I think he was 5. He made the trap in the garden and his coup-de-gras was adding a small bowl (think mini-prep bowl) of beer -which he got himself. Parenting him is a constant exercise in not laughing when I’m not supposed to.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. What joy to witness that sort of creativity and for your other daughter to join in. A minute to make a creation, any kind of creation is such a memory maker. Dishes and laundry will always be there. Little girls are fleeting …(my baby girl is a freshman in college and just turned 19🥺) Next time….glitter!!!

    Like

  12. Great post! I could feel and do feel the tug between engaging in what the kids are doing/creating and the desire for a clean, organized house. At first I worried that it would be like a scene in my house, when a certain ten-year old boy leaves something to the very last minute and it gets hastily done- I thought this morning meant Monday morning, but re-read and understood.
    Thanks for the story and the cute pics!

    Like

  13. I have to give the teacher a lot of credit for an assignment that really inspired some creative, independent, and innovative thinking. When my girls were your daughters’ age, the leprechauns used to show up at our house and create mischief. They did all sorts of naughty things. I think the girls looked forward to it as much as Christmas!

    Like

Leave a comment