Living the Dream

“Living the dream.”

That’s my husband’s usual response when asked, “how’s it going?”

This response usually makes me roll my eyes or think or at least think of rolling them…

But whenever he says it, I do find myself examining the situation. First glance and you may see us grocery shopping with whiney kids in tow or rushing from one place to another.

But the second glance always gets me.

With another look, I always see a bigger picture. A family together after a long week. A full cart with all of our needs and many wants met. No where but home to rush to, where there will be time for playing in the yard, drawing, and books.

“Living the dream.”

That’s what we’re busy doing.

img_2767-9

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Living the Dream

  1. What a great response – Living the Dream! It reminds me of a custodian I knew once who, when asked how he was doing, said, “If I were any better, I’d be twins!” I was never exactly sure what that meant, but it sure was positive! Keep on living the dream.

    Like

  2. I might use that line when I can! As it is, I try to replace the word “Have” with “get”. It’s sort of like the second glance. I “get” to make dinner for my family is really different than the other statement–I love that you all appreciate it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree. In a preface to a story I was telling before a meeting yesterday, I said Bob and I were talking about that over coffee this morning. There was a response in the group of amazement that we had chat and coffee in the mornings. It’s second nature to us, but what a gift. The days are long, but the years are short.

    Like

Leave a comment