Windshield Wipers

Today’s April snow storm made for an eventful commute to work. As I hurried through the snow and into school, I noticed a few coworkers had once again lifted their windshield wipers. As I left the building for the day, I had to really think about whether the snow storm had actually happened. The sun was shining and most of the snow had already melted. The raised wipers were the only reminder that it wasn’t all a dream. So since it’s April, I wrote a little poem about this day.

April second

Another Snow storm…

No fooling

Early morning windshield wipers raised to the sky

Left pleading for sunshine.

By afternoon,

They are still raised high-

This time praising the warmth of the golden sun

15 thoughts on “Windshield Wipers

  1. I love this poem and agree with readingteachsu that the personification of the windshield wipers works so well here. What a clever take! Spring in New England is all about the rapid switch from pleading with the weather to praising it. We had snow flurries during recess yesterday and the kids were appalled! lol

    Like

  2. I walked out yesterday with the same visual…but did not see it in the poetic way you saw it. Now, though, I won’t see it the same again.
    My reaction had been more of alarm. The wipers on my car, without the snow piled on the windshield, just seemed so awkward. One looked unnaturally long, and I thought maybe it had gotten bent back somehow. On closer inspection, nope, just peculiar

    Like

  3. Another snowstorm, no fooling.
    I love that line and the windshield wipers raised to the warm sky.
    Your poem captures the whimsical nature of this unwanted storm.
    Happy spring!

    Like

  4. This is so fun! I noticed the wipers in the air but my brain did no more than notice – love that your eyes and writerly way took it to PoEM! The contrast in your poem captured the contrast of the day! Yay! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  5. Love your lament. I saw the weather reports for snow and gave much thanks for our drizzly rain and warmer temps. Old Man Winter seems to have more than his usual strength for this time of the year.

    Like

Leave a comment