The Excitement

“I want to tell Mimi the excitement. Cause it happened to me,” Adi’s voice declared from the backseat of the minivan on our early morning drive to drop the girls off at my Mom’s house. This statement was meant for her older sister, who often likes to be the one to broadcast family news.

The “excitement” began the day before, during our lazy snow day. Adi sat relaxing on the couch and asked for her pacifier, which all of my children have called a Bobo-a name stolen from their cousins. I seized the moment and said, “Adi, you’re almost four. I’ve never seen a four year old with a bobo. What do you think?”

She gave me the side eye, the way only a middle child can. I smiled sweetly while in my mind I played through all of the problems with the bobo. We missed the ideal window for getting rid of the thing. I had been pregnant with Rose and then Rose was born…That bobo had saved my life, sanity, and already fragmented sleep more times than I care to admit. We had tried to get rid of it before, but it takes a strong person and up until today, I wasn’t feeling that strong.

But she took the bait. “Fine,” she said a little too much like a teenager might. “I’ll TRY to sleep without my bobo today.”

I gave her a high five while in my head I was thinking, “Yeah right! Just wait for bedtime. She’ll be crying like a baby for the bobo.”

But as she got ready for bed, I reminded her that she was going to try sleeping without it and while at first her eyes filled with sadness, she picked up her chin and headed up the stairs towards her bedroom. Halfway up she stopped,”But will you lay with me?” she asked. I could see where this was headed, trade one bad habit for another, but I could’t say no. This was big stuff for a girl who had come to find comfort from the plastic mouth plug her entire life.

As she settled into bed, I asked her, “Do you think you’re ready for the Bobo Fairy to come? Because I can let her know. I’m sure there is a little baby who needs that Bobo more than you do.” Again I was greeted with the side eye that quickly turned to her sad eyes.

“Ok,” she whispered cuddling up in her bed. After her routine of singing the day away ended, she finally quieted down. I listened,waiting for the quiet evenness of sleep to come, praying that she wouldn’t turn back and beg for her Bobo.

Sleep came and I tiptoed back downstairs.

“She went to sleep without her Bobo,” I announced to Arnauld as I took her Bobo off the kitchen counter and clutched it to my chest.

He looked at me as though I was pathetic. No big deal in his book.

There was no turning back. I channeled my inner fairy, wrote a note in disguised handwriting, and went searching for the loot I had stashed for this very moment.

IMG_2650

img_2767-2

17 thoughts on “The Excitement

  1. Such a lovely slice, one to treasure forever, one to share with Adi when she is older. As a grandma, I was hooked with your first paragraph. 🙂

    Like

  2. I can just picture Adi saying, “Fine” just like a teenager. This “small moment” slice is really a big deal despite Arnauld’s nonchalance. I love reading your stories.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is such a big moment, and you caught it so well in this slice. I love the “side eye” she gives you, and then the sad eyes, all followed by the “OK. I can do this.” attitude. I’m in love with your kids through your stories. I feel like I’m experiencing motherhood all over again. Keep writing!

    Like

  4. Good for her- brave move! I love the way you captured her every move here. I was afraid my second might be too attached to his pacifier, so I threw it away at 6 months. The babysitter thought I was cruel.

    Like

  5. This slice captures this milestone perfectly—equal parts sadness (no, not another step toward having a big kid!) and relief to finally get rid of that thing. We, too, just got rid of our “bite” a few months ago, right before my daughter’s fourth birthday. I love the way you captured these moments!

    Like

  6. Your slice is beautiful – so many emotions wrapped up in here – pride, sadness, excitement. Your descriptions of Adi’s reactions were vivid and the whole story really came alive. In fact, you’re inspiring me *again* as I think back to when my son gave up his ‘suce’ when he was 4. Thanks for filling me with nostalgia.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That picture – melts my heart! “I could see where this was headed, trade one bad habit for another” – spoken like a mother trying to do her best! It really made me chuckle! Your slice has different scenes – the mini van, the couch, the bed, and finally downstairs – each setting having it’s own tone. Loved it! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  8. As a mom of three children, right away I connected when your middle child wanted to share the excitement…because my middle child likes to share exciting news more often than he gets to. These moments are so bittersweet–we are happy they are moving beyond these things they need to move beyond, yet so sad too, because it means they are getting a little older with every passing second.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I related with your words “…The side eye look from the middle child.” I am certain all middle children have this look!
    Also, your words captured the moment perfectly when you said, “This was big stuff for a girl who had come to find comfort from the plastic mouth plug her entire life.”
    Great slice!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh, you make me feel the excitement and apprehension that both you and your daughter felt on these days. I’m remembering the emotions I felt when we went through getting rid of a pacifier many years ago. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment