Favorite Part of Today

My favorite part of today was a conversation about books I had with a fifth grade book club. I’m just starting a cycle with the fifth grade team as they launch a new unit for them, Reading Differently. The unit offers time to practice many of the interpretation skills they learned earlier in the year, while at the same time supports their literary essay study.

Today, the clubs were choosing a reading project-an author, genre, series, or theme study.  I was skeptical. It seemed so open ended.

I began by listening into a group seated close to my spot on the rug. They discussed a Rebecca Stead book they read as a club earlier in the fall. “It was so good,” they gushed. One member of the group rattled off other titles by the same author, noting that she wouldn’t mind rereading a few she had already read. They seemed to be on a good path, no need to intervene.

I passed another group already carrying around different titles by Gary Paulson before settling around a table with five boys deep in discussion. “I’m reading I Funny by James Patterson. He also has the Middle School Series. I really love it. Or what about that guy who makes poetry cool?”

“I love books written in prose,”another boy chimed in.

His group just stared at him. “Kwame Alexander?” I offered.

“That’s it!” he exclaimed. “I read Crossover.”

“Isn’t that a sports book?” another boy asked.

“It is…but it’s so much more. It’s about their life.”

I quickly scanned the classroom library looking for some other ideas. “How about this?” I said tossing a copy of Bird in a Box by Andrea Davis Pikney into the mix. That was about the same the classroom teacher walked by. Catching the author’s name, she went to a bookshelf and came back with multiple copies of The Red Pencil. Together we read the back of the book and discussed the possibility of reading about refugees. I offered up several titles for consideration including Refugee by Alan Gatz, Paper Wishes by Lois Sepahban, and connecting back to their class read aloud Home of the Brave by Katherine Applegate.

They seemed intrigued.

This class reminded me of the power of choice and the importance of joy in the classroom. These kids are readers. They have ideas and opinions about what they like to read. They come to school every day and are surrounded by beautiful books written by amazing authors that they are excited to read and talk about.

I left this group as they had all made some compromises, hashing out what they were willing to give a try and what was off limits for them. I left with a list of books to look for in the library and a promise to find a way to purchase some of the titles, they were so passionate about, for their classroom library. I was even trying to figure out a way to squeeze in a trip to Barnes and Noble on the way home if I needed to…anything to keep that momentum going.

slice-of-life_individual

9 thoughts on “Favorite Part of Today

  1. To me, this is what it’s all about – sparking a love of reading (and writing and learning) in the kids. These are the golden moments we carry with us always, to remind ourselves why we do what we do. I am chuckling over the desire to go to B & N – I have experienced that pull so many times! Thanks for capturing and sharing the students’ passion – and your own.

    Like

  2. I loved reading this vibrant slice of life. It just pulses with book love. Hearing students gush about books and authors is a true delight! Thanks for starting my day on such a positive note.

    Like

  3. I am curious about Refugee in the mix here. I read it and loved it, and I still wonder about some of the violence in there (which I know is designed to give the real experience to the reader) with my students (sixth graders). I had even gone into the reading of the book, thinking in the back of my head of a move by our district to do an all-sixth-grade read (our district is very dispersed and the middle school teachers want some touchstone text to reference) and how Refugee might be an option. After reading it, I wasn’t so sure.
    Can I ask, what is your thinking on the Alan Gratz book in the classroom? Just wondering …
    Thanks
    Kevin

    Like

  4. You were skeptical – “it” was open ended – it was so open ended, they owned it – it was really about their choice, they had to bring their opinions which revealed the readers they are – the thinkers they are! Their energy about the work transferred to you (and we talk about transferring our energy to them!) – this was the topic of 2 hallway conversations for YOU! Thanks for sprinkling the joy with your slice!

    Like

  5. First, congratulations to YOU and your school. You have a class of readers because it is valued by you and you have a big hand in making that happen! Second, thanks for reminding me about the importance of choice. My students always produce better when I just step back and let them work it out. Your post reminded me to keep doing this!

    Like

Leave a comment